Halal assurance systems in enzyme market

Document Type: Review


1 Department of Food Science and Technology, National Nutrition and Food Technology Research Institute, Faculty of Nutrition Sciences and Food Technology, Shahid Beheshti University of Medical Sciences, Tehran, Iran; Food and Drug Administration, Tehran University of Medical Sciences, Tehran, Iran.

2 Department of Chemistry, Sharif University of Technology, Tehran, Iran.


Background and objective: Enzymes are a kind of food additive which are widely used in food industry. They are extracted from different sources including plants, animals and microorganisms. There are a growing demand for Halal ingredients because of people's awareness of disadvantages of Haram foods. The aim of this review is listing the main enzymes used in food industry by focusing on control measures in evaluation of halal status.
Results and conclusion: According to Islamic regulations, Halal food ingredients must come from halal sources. Specifically, the enzymes utilized in Halal foods must be extracted from Halal sources. In this regard, the enzymes produced by microorganisms are considered as Halal if the cultivation medium consists of Halal ingredients. In addition, there is an additional restriction for genetically modified microorganisms so that they should have recombinant DNA derived from Halal sources. As conclusion, attention to ingredients up to molecular level and the processes makes the Halal food products more popular among consumers.